An Introduction

I am embarking on a new photography project that I am tentatively calling Shared Earth.  I usually start a new project quietly, not even aware myself that the road is splitting again until I notice the scenery slowly starting to change.  And this project started the same way – with just the idea that I was interested in photographing some of the artifacts that have been recovered from this land I know so well.  But to photograph those artifacts I had to gain access to them.  And to gain access I had to talk to people about the project.  And the more I talked about it, the more it expanded.  Now the artifacts are just a small part of the project while the whole of their ancient cultures are stretched before me.  Photography can take us to such amazing places – in this case, to the ancient mound builders of northeastern Louisiana.

There are 39 sites on the Ancient Indian Mounds Driving Trail that circles around northeastern Louisiana.  3 of them are on public property but the rest are on private land.  My goal is to photograph all of them as well as ones that aren’t on the trail, the ones hidden from view, along with the artifacts that have been recovered from them.

I am starting this blog to share the stories and images I collect along this journey, to keep the people I meet along the way updated on its progress and to publicly thank them for all of their help.

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Introduction

  1. Denise Fuson says:

    Jenny, this is wonderful! I can’t wait to read the next post. You geaux, Girl.

  2. Ron Hinchley says:

    I have enjoyed your photographs and blog.

Leave a Reply

