Boothe Landing

I visited Boothe Landing with archaeologist Joe Saunders.  I probably would have never found the turn off, Little Boy Lane, without him.

The mound is about 10 feet tall and is thought to be the only Tchefuncte-age (500-100 BC) mound on the driving trail.  It sits on the bank of the Ouachita River which was the main thoroughfare of the day.  Now the bank is a tangled knot of shrubs, vines and probably water moccasins.

I was able to meet some of the family members who live there now, most notably, 6 year old Harley.  She had a borrowed smart phone and was using an app to draw on the screen which she encouraged me to do also.  How strange it was to stand at the base of an earthwork built over 2000 years ago while doodling on a tiny computer smaller than my hand.  Harley also showed me her favorite tree which she quickly climbed, waving down at me from one of the branches.  THAT I could imagine children have been doing on this riverbank for centuries.

Boothe Landing, north of Harrisonburg, Louisiana

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

