Joint Adventures

All of my photography projects, before this one, have been done solo.  I go quietly about the business of finding the photographs and no one usually knows what I’m doing until I’m done.  And sometimes not even then.

But this project has been different from the start.  I needed access and found doors and cabinets and nooks and crannies opened to me.  I needed information and was given the facts along with stories and guided tours and new friendships.  When I nervously asked for financial support, it came from both the usual and the unusual suspects.  People have made phone calls for me, sent emails, connected me to someone else who made phone calls and sent emails.  I’ve never been so humbled in my life.  I never expected to find such kindness and generosity.

And I know it’s the mounds and their silent presence that are bringing people together.  The shared passion for preserving them, informing others about them, having photographs of all of them brought together to tell their collective story.

And I wonder if maybe I’ve stumbled upon another reason the mounds were able to be built by people who, until archaeologists discovered these mounds, weren’t thought capable of the organization required for such monumental tasks.  They actually enjoyed working on things together.  They found it was better than working alone.  And when the construction was finished, the mounds were tall and reaching for the sky, they could stand back and celebrate the completion together.

The Basket by Basket fundraiser is winding down and now the real work can begin in earnest.  I am truly grateful for those of you have helped not only financially but also with your interest and ideas and encouragement.  And I look forward to continuing this project with you all.


North ridges, Poverty Point

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

