The Catfish

My last post was only up minutes before I got the first “where’s the catfish picture” email.  So, here is the catfish.  Stripped of its meat and left to hang as a trophy.  Not necessarily a “pretty picture” but, I think, a beautiful image.  Left by the fishermen with a sense of pride … this was in our bayou … and we caught it.

A naturally decaying trophy, not hung on a wall somewhere, but gradually returning to the rich soil of Louisiana.

I used to swim in Bayou Bartholomew, long ago, in an isolated area, before a subdivision grew up there.  When we had to scare the alligators away before we could get in the water.  Back when I was a kid and didn’t know better.  And, undoubtedly, before Child Protective Services was invented.

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Catfish

  1. dfuson says:

    Oh, but it IS a beautiful fish! One day I’ll tell you about a 9# bass I caught in False River (New Roads, La) and ever so slowly walked across the boat landing parking lot with it hanging off my finger. The looks I got! Priceless.

Leave a Reply

