Flowery Mound

Ok, I’ll be honest.  When I first saw “Flowery Mound” on the map, south of Tallulah, near St. Joseph, I wasn’t expecting much.  It sounded too cute.  I expected miniature windmills and garden gnomes.  Maybe one of those whirligig birds with the spinning wings.

But what I found was a single mound, about 10 feet tall, with an old wooden playhouse built on top.  It sits right off Hwy. 128 and can be easily seen from the roadway.  No plastic flamingoes were visible.

The mound was built in a single episode around AD 1000 and measures 165 x 130 feet at the base.  It is located on a natural levee deposit along Andrews Bayou which is a channel of the Mississippi River.  The marker at the site states that the corners are oriented to the cardinal directions.  Why?  Coincidence?

I pulled over on the shoulder of the road, turned on my flashers and got out to photograph the site.  Traffic hurried behind me.  I thought the drivers must be wondering what could possibly be interesting about a pile of dirt with a crumbling playhouse on top.  I’m sure most of them drive by it often, maybe every day, ignoring the sign and the significance.

I wanted to wave them down.  The pile of dirt was built a thousand years ago!!!  I’m fairly confident that it’s the coolest thing they will see all day.

Flowery Mound

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flowery Mound

  1. Amy Ouchley says:

    I bet we all drive by “cool” things and don’t know it. The little playhouse looks forgotten and forlorn, but with your post the little mound has not been forgotten. So many places we trod are sacred.

  2. DeAnna Foran says:

    Jenny, I was visiting the place in Illinois where I grew up and discovered one of those mounds you are researching on a farm just outside of town. It really stands out because the field around it is so flat. It has never been touched, the owner of the property guards it faithfully and discourages visitors. It is in a little valley that has always felt sacred to me, and I have always loved to drive that the crick road to my aunt’s house. I must have driven by it a million times. I would never have paid any attention but reading your blogs about mounds made me aware.

Leave a Reply

