Thoughts on a Rainy Afternoon

I am winding down the photography part of this project.  I’m not stopping altogether but I have enough photos for my handmade books, for an exhibit, for me to study and contemplate what to do next.  There are still sites I want to visit but I can now do them leisurely, weaving them into other work that I am doing.

The first mounds book, “groundwork”, is finished.  I am nearing completion of another one about Poverty Point.  I have a local exhibit of this work scheduled for December.  So it feels like I am finally able to stop, catch my breath and look back at where I have been, what I have seen and what I have learned.

And there is one thought that has stayed with me throughout this project.  And that is the idea that this earth really is shared.  The changes that the mound builders made on the landscape are still here; they can be seen by us all these centuries later.  And while I stand on the ground that they moved and shaped and built, I know that people in the future will stand on what we leave behind.

And because of that I feel a greater responsibility, a greater awareness of our effects on the planet.  If a pile of dirt can last for 5000 years, how long will a pile of plastic water bottles last?  I know, I know, we hear dire reports of our destructive impact on the planet every day.  But whether or not I believe all of them or become alarmed by them or change my way of life because of them, I think about them even more because of this project.  I consider more seriously what effect I have on the earth that I pass over every day.  And I think more about what I want to leave behind.

Because our changes to the earth really do last.

MdA_03.29.13-5779

Mound A, Poverty Point, 1700-1100 BC.

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts on a Rainy Afternoon

  1. Bill says:

    Dear Jenny,
    Finding a new “Shared Earth” posting in the inbox is always a great joy. Your fans don’t want you to “wind down.” Boo-ooo!
    Well, seriously, many thanks for all the tremendous photos you’ve posted and the accounts of your adventures. We’ll be happy to follow “Shared Earth” in whatever form it takes in the future.

  2. Hi Bill,
    The blog isn’t going away just yet … there are still good things happening around the bend. I’ve just switched my primary focus from shooting to doing something with the photos I already have. And there will still be new photos occasionally. I’ll probably never completely quit searching for mounds and photographing them.

    But thanks for your encouragement and support. It is much appreciated!

  3. Linda says:

    What a gentle and powerful reminder to do more ecologically. Thank you, Jenny.

Leave a Reply

