The Ancient City of Poverty Point

I have just completed the second handmade book in the 3-book series from this project!  It is a softcover book about the late (late archaic anyway), great city of Poverty Point.  It has taken WAY longer than I expected due to some technical difficulties with dyeing the covers but I now have a couple of them finished and more in the works.

Some of you may remember my endeavor to make black walnut dye from walnuts gathered at Poverty Point.  My idea was to use that dye on the covers of this book which are made from thick handmade mulberry paper.  Here they are … dyed, dried, rinsed then hanging up to dry again.

PPcovers_drying_1080183

Inside the book are 11 images and 11 pages of text bound together with waxed linen thread.  I used a variation of a 4-hole Japanese binding technique described by Kojiro Ikegami who was born in 1908 and was a master bookbinding craftsman.  I know, what does Japan have to do with ancient earthen mounds in Louisiana?  But … I liked the idea of the technique being handed down to him from generations of bookbinders, then to me, across both time and space.  They are printed using carbon inks on cotton paper, measure approximately 6×9 inches and look like this:

PPBook_6749web

PPBook2_6733.web

PPbook3_6735web

I will be slowly making more of them which will be offered for sale on my website.  I don’t like adding commercial stuff to this blog but I don’t know of a better way to reach some of you.  Like the previous book, groundwork, this one will be offered at a lower price for a month or so to allow the followers of the project to purchase one as reasonably as I can price it.  After that, the price will go up to help support my continuing efforts with these mounds – there are exhibits to launch and educational displays to construct and more good things along the way.

Thanks to ALL of you who have stayed with this project.  Your support is much appreciated!

About Jenny Ellerbe

I am a photographer living, and working, in northeastern Louisiana.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ancient City of Poverty Point

  1. linda denton says:

    Jenny, the book is beautiful. It’s obvious that an incredible amount of thought and care went into the design and actual creation of this work of art.

Leave a Reply

